About Us

For over 30 years, Great Explorations has been Tampa Bay’s preeminent children’s museum supporting practical learning applications through a proven creative curriculum.

As the nation’s first children’s museum to open a licensed preschool, we’re proud to stimulate curiosity and enrichment through a carefully curated hands on learning environment.

WE STAND FOR:

Empowerment of expressive learningInnovation through collaborative playPassion for fostering growth

Accreditations

Great Explorations is the first mid-size children’s museum in the country to achieve AAM accreditation.  The museum joins the ranks of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Salvador Dali Museum, Museum of Fine Arts, and Indianapolis Children’s Museum.

Meet Our Staff!

We believe that every child can reach their full potential through personal, real life learning applications, in a creative environment. Check out our incredible certified staff below!

Angeline Howell
CEO
ahowell@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 208
Alan Kahle
COO
akahle@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 205
Laurel Ginn
Controller
lginn@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 228
Nicole Morelli
Curator of Exhibits
nmorelli@greatex.org
nmorelli@greatex.org ext 203
Rachael Allen
Preschool Director
rallen@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 215
Shannon Sloan
Director of Marketing
ssloan@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 236
Lauren Leavine
Director of Education
lleavine@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 226
Lael Arango
Director of Community Initiatives
larango@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 209
JulieAnne Harding
Assistant Preschool Director
jharding@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 234
Mark Fairweather
Assistant Director of Exhibits
mfairweather@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 202
Chel Personius
Finance Manager
cpersonius@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 219
Marthanne Gillen
Membership and Scheduling Coordinator
mgillen@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 230
Alison Hunt
Gallery Manager
ahunt@greatex.org
(727) 821-8992 ext 225

Meet Our Board!

Our board helps to guide and support the future of Great Explorations Children’s Museum. Check out a few of the Great Ex board member below!

Executive Board

Daniel J. Leeper

Board Chair

John R. Kaddis MBA,CFP

Past Chair

Natalie Gebicke

Vice Chair

Carey Kleinmetz

Treasurer

Jason Green

Secretary

Andrea Silverman

Marketing Committee Chair

Jerilyn Rush

Development Committee/Great Extravaganza Chair

Board

Jenna Bell

Stacy Sher Conroy

Logan DeVicente

Mike Harris

John-Erik Johansson

Jason Palmer

Melissa Pinkerton

Melanie Rattanachane

Dr. Thomas Silver

Audra Walsh

Rachel Wein

SIGN UP FOR THE LATEST NEWS